Urban Volcano

Fiction by Börkur Sigurbjörnsson


Talk to Strangers

Talk to Strangers is an illustrated collection of short stories by the Icelandic fiction writer Börkur Sigurbjörnsson. Each short story tells the tale of an encounter with an alien form, be it a stranger in the street, a foreign point of view or an internal dialog with the concealed part of our own subconsciousness. The collection introduces strangers from around the world with stories taking place in Buenos Aires, Bogotá, Barcelona, London and Reykjavík. This collection of short stories is illustrated by the author himself.

“This collection was a few years in the making and it took me some time to settle on the theme. At first I deliberately intended to write stories about the act of waiting, but after reaching several dead-ends and artificially forced subjects the concept of strangers started appearing organically.”

Paperbacks and e-books

Talk to Strangers — Cover by Ana Piñeyro
Cover by Ana Piñeyro

Talk to Strangers is available as a paperback book from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

An e-book for Kindle readers is available in the Kindle Store and e-books for other e-readers, smartphones or tablets are available from Apple Books, Kobo, and Storytel.

More information about the short story collection is available on Goodreads.

Table of contents

The short stories are also available to read for free online.


Talk to Strangers has not received any reviews, yet.

Add your review of Talk to Strangers on Goodreads.

Börkur is an avid storyteller with a keen eye for quirky characters, funny dialogs and vivid scenario descriptions. Much of his writing falls within the genre of realistic fiction and his stories are more often than not based on real events in the author’s life. Although the tales contain grains of truth, they are melded with fiction, making the reader curious to know the line between reality and fantasy.